Day 6: Discomfort

I am going to do something for this post that I am very uncomfortable with. I am going to share a vocal recording of a song that I have made up. Sorry it is vocals only, I have yet to get a keyboard and my efforts on the guitar sadden me. I am doing this because I really don’t want to, but I don’t want this song to die the way of most of my songs do. Lonely and forgotten.

So here it is, the vocal recording of the song that I started last week. I figured since I failed to perform at the open mic night this past Tuesday, I should do something that I was uncomfortable with but hopefully beneficial to my creative growth.

And at least for now, I am masquerading as Lily Forests on Soundcloud because amazingly Lily Lin and Lily Forest have already been taken. And technically my last name translates to either forest or forests. Also I rather like the imagery!

3 thoughts on “Day 6: Discomfort

  1. I’ve been putting off commenting on Day 2 because I want to put a lot into it, and probably read your whole tirade—and the comments—so I’ll keep this to minor comments.

    Most of this is amazing. Seriously.

    I will say I wasn’t a fan of the monotone on the second intro stanza. I had really liked the “up up up” in the lyrics (actually, I was sad that you “fixed” the student loan one to “out out out”), and I feel like it’s weakened, maybe “hidden”, in the monotone of the intro.

    It’s a bit long. Which is not inherently bad, and there’s no need to stick to the verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus structure, but there’s no indication of where we are in the progression. But perhaps that’s an artifact of having no backing instrumentals.

    “Sorry we failed you” came unexpected since you added it afterwards, and I can honestly say that the surprise bite of that line felt like…well, I can’t place it exactly, but in VT’s circle. Love it, love it, love it.

    Suggestion: in System Preferences, turn the mic volume down a bit, and also turn off ambient noise reduction.

    Like

  2. This reminds me a lot of something by Vienna Teng, and I’m having trouble remembering exactly what. Radio? Or maybe the Grandmother Song just because it’s without instrumentation. (Can’t wait to hear it with instrumentation, though…)

    Like

Leave a Reply

