Poke

T’was only a poke
Nothing meant by it
Just merely a joke

No bite of the thumb
No gauntlet flung
So, officer I hope

You don’t take this to mind
He’s quite out of his mind
Took a fall, not been quite right

You get my drift
It don’t mean nothing
in my line of work

Yes, the dams fell
The water broke
And its surprising

We’re still afloat
That’s what we do
We break and keep going

Just let it go, let it fly
Why am I?  Why,
He’s still one of mine

What do I do?  Well,
I see walls and I get this urging
to poke holes in their making

Must see to it, he, they keep holding
Keep breathing, see to their falls
And give them a poke

One thought on “Poke

  1. (about mine) This is what I first thought when I first heard the song; I was disappointed to find it wasn’t. A partial success.

    Oh, caught in a Bad Romance.
    Oh, caught in a Bad Romance.

    When we first meet, you’ll offer your help.
    But I’ll decline; I’ll stand up for myself.
    You’ll fall in love, love love love
    You’ll fall in love.

    Then we’ll meet once when I’m sad and it’s night.
    You’ll give me your coat and you’ll hold me real tight.
    Show me your love, love love love
    Show me your love.

    I know that I’ve got you,
    I’m starting to fall too,
    I want it bad, Bad Romance.

    You be the tall dark stranger; ask for a dance.
    You and me could write a Bad Romance.
    I’ll be the only one who gave you a chance,
    You and me could write a Bad Romance.

    Oh, caught in a Bad Romance.
    Oh, caught in a Bad Romance.

    I want to look deep into your eyes.
    To see a man both solemn and wise,
    To see your love, love love love
    To see your love.

    The chiseled jawline, the brush of your hand.
    Shoulders broad and skin that’s perfectly tanned.
    And all your love, love love love
    I want your love.

    I know that you miss me.
    And you can’t wait to kiss me.
    Cause you’re the one, in my Bad Romance

    Just whisk me away to small village in France
    You and me could write a Bad Romance.
    Just take me to a field where we’ll take off our pants,
    You and me could write a Bad Romance.

    Oh, caught in a Bad Romance.
    Oh, caught in a Bad Romance.

    I’m yours, I won’t look back
    This love is fit for paperback
    I’m yours, I won’t look back
    This love is fit for paperback.

    I’m yours, I won’t look back
    This love is fit for paperback
    I’m yours, I won’t look back
    This love will sell out the whole rack.

    You’re strong and sweet, sensitive and tall.
    Devoted and clean, baby, you’ve got it all.
    Je veux ton amour, I hear your call,
    A wish come true, baby, you’ve got it all.

    Baby you’ve got it all.
    (Caught in a Bad Romance.)
    Baby you’ve got it all.
    Baby you’ve got it all.
    Want my Bad Romance.
    (Caught in a Bad Romance.)
    Want my Bad Romance.

    I want your love and I want your embrace.
    You and me could write a Bad Romance.
    I want to gaze upon your beautiful face.
    You and me could write a Bad Romance.

    In my Bad Romance
    Caught in a Bad Romance
    In my Bad Romance
    In my Bad Romance
    Caught in a Bad Romance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

