Whimsy

Caught a flight Tuesday morning
Left for work, but hey, I’m in mourning
Called in sick, just a sack with a toothbrush on my back
I’m taking my leave
and I might never come back

I’m taking my leave
leaving these made-up boxes behind
check no box, leave all the questions blank
People say, I’m on a path of self-destruction
one of these days, whimsy will go up in flames
but hey, I feel alive

I went through all the motions
Did what I was told
Fold my laundry into squares
Ate an apple every day
But from the view down here
That couldn’t stop this spreading cancer,
Nor the next heart attack

So,
I’m taking my leave
leaving these pent-up feelings aside
no more hesitating, no more hovering still
waiting for something that will never come
No more

Whimsy goes, where whimsy will
Just like floating
Just like flying
Whimsy goes, where whimsy will
Feels like flying
And I’m not coming down

Made a paper airplane from my last paycheck
Threw it towards the river
Didn’t look to see where it land
Spent an hour just watching
squirrels fighting, dancing, love-making
Caught a ride, found a glowing fountain
in the middle of suburbia and I sleep at night
in marshes with fireflies and twinkling stars
for companions

I’m taking my leave
Erasing the memories that pick away at me inside
Your laugh, easy smile
The hands that guided mine
Your last breathe as I held you close
mingling with mine
No more

Landed in Mississippi, saw the river
Thought I would stay, see the sights
Play Huckleberry Finn
Paint some fences
Make new friends
Take the next flight out, going who knows where
Back up in the air

People say, I’m on a path of self-destruction
one of these days, whimsy will go up in flames
but hey, I feel alive

Whimsy goes, where whimsy will
Just like floating
Just like flying
Whimsy goes, where whimsy will
Feels like flying
And I’m not coming down

One thought on “Whimsy

  1. Wedding Dress (Taeyang): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qIt6KCwlFPw
    Translation: http://whimsicalbeing.blogspot.com/2009/11/taeyang-wedding-dress-lyrics-with.html
    Another English version: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-1J6rQi0Ds

    When I see the two of you
    Fight and cry like you sometimes do
    Then my heart leaps for a moment; maybe this isn’t true.
    But then I turn and see you smi-smi-smile again
    I feel fine but I know that to you, we’re just friends.
    Know that I can’t let you start to figure out how I feel ’bout you
    Cause then we’d drift apart, and I can’t stand to lose that too.
    Tell myself it’s all right, take a deep breath and hold it tight.
    But I turn away so my heart won’t break tonight.

    Baby,
    Please don’t leave me.
    Please don’t take his hand.
    Cause you should be my lady
    Please don’t let my
    Dreams turn into sand.

    (The music starts…)
    You’re walking down the aisle to the altar,
    about to say “I do”, and oh,
    how I prayed every night that at the altar
    I could be the one next to you
    to

    See you in that wedding dress (dress).
    Girl, see you in that wedding dress (dress).
    (It’s not me, no!)
    Wedding dress (dress).
    Oh, see you in that wedding dress.
    Oh no…

    Now there’s no tears left to cry
    Cause I’ve been up every night
    Why is it that he’s your man and I’m not in your life.
    I close my eyes and dream that now-now-now was then
    But all along I knew that this was how it’d end.
    When I’m by myself I talk as if you’re here with me
    But in the day a smile hides the love that I can’t let you see.
    A quick laugh that we share, and I catch the smell of your hair.
    Won’t you please leave him and come with me?

    Baby,
    Please don’t leave me.
    Please don’t take his hand.
    Cause you should be my lady
    Please don’t let my
    Dreams turn into sand.

    (The music starts…)
    You’re walking down the aisle to the altar,
    about to say “I do”, and oh,
    how I prayed every night that at the altar
    I could be the one next to you
    to

    See you in that wedding dress (dress).
    Girl, see you in that wedding dress (dress).
    (It’s not me, no!)
    Wedding dress (dress).
    Oh, see you in that wedding dress.
    Oh no…

    (reverse piano)

    See you smiling happily
    Please forget my misery
    Don’t look; it’s gonna be unbearably hard for me.
    You know I want you two to be happy so I can take
    as long as I need to
    try to forget you.

    You’re walking down the aisle to the altar,
    about to say “I do”, and oh,
    how I prayed every night that at the altar
    I could be the one next to you
    to

    See you in that wedding dress (dress).
    Girl, see you in that wedding dress (dress).
    (It’s not me, no!)
    Wedding dress (dress).
    (Should’ve been me, shoulda been me!)
    Oh, see you in that wedding dress.
    Oh no…

    Like

Leave a Reply

